LOCKS in SQL Server

There are different types of lock in SQL Server 2000 and 2005. These locks are applied in different situations. Here is the list of locks and the situation for the locks.


 – This lock is applied for read operation where the data is not updated. A good example would be the select statement.


– This locked on those resources that can be updated. This lock prevents the common form of dead lock that occurs when multiple sessions are locking the data so that they can update it later.

 – Used for data-modification operations, such as INSERT, UPDATE, or DELETE. Ensures that multiple updates cannot be made to the same resource at the same time.


– Used to establish a lock hierarchy. The different types of intent locks are: intent shared, intent exclusive, and shared with intent exclusive.

 – Used when an operation dependent on the schema of a table is executing. The different types of schema locks are: schema modification and schema stability.


– This lock is applied when there is a bulk copying of data and the TABLOCK is applied


– Protects the range of rows read by a query when using the serializable transaction isolation level. Ensures that other transactions cannot insert rows that would qualify for the queries of the serializable transaction if the queries were run again.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: